Hotel Abbaye La Colle sur Loup, History

In the 5th century A.D. there was a monastery called Notre Dame la Dorée et Saint Véran in the municipal area of Cagnes sur Mer, at the mouth of the Loup Valley.
Four hundred years later, the monastery was in danger of collapsing. It was renovated by Charlemagne, King of the Lombards and patrician of the Romans. Later, the area of the monastery was increased considerably, thanks to the donations of property offered by neighbouring families.


For example, a charter dated 31 December 1016 referred to a donation by Pierre and his wife Emengarde of their territory of Canadel, which was their part of inheritance, to the Monastery of Notre Dame la Dorée et Saint Véran.
The charter says: "We give this for the love of God, so that the Holy Mother of God intercedes for us, so that we will be welcomed by angels when departing from this life."

In the year 1032, Logier, his wife Odile and his children, including Pierre, who was the Bishop of Sisteron, gave all the land to the Monastery of Notre Dame la Dorée.


In the year 1033, the Lambert family made a donation which further enlarged the site. The various chapels built on this new land were considered to be dependent on the monastery, but not yet as belonging to it.


It was in the year 1055 that the monastery was put under the jurisdiction of the monastery of Lérins. The monks of Lérins immediately began construction of the Chapel of Canadel. The choir and nave, in pure Roman style, data back to this period, as the apse in the form of a concave half dome and semi-circular arches indicate.
On the other hand, the barrel arch was definitely only added a century later, as the slightly gothic arches show.

The construction of the Abbey adjacent to the chapel can be placed between the years 1150 and 1200. Evidence of this can be seen in the remains of the cloister and the machicolated door of the 12th and 13th centuries, which, like the chapel, are listed as historic monuments.
Built by the monks of Lérins, the Abbey was at first used as lodging for the abbot father every time he travelled to the assembly of bishops in Vence.

Finding it suitable, he moved his community there during the winter months, and this is how the Abbey became their winter residence. It remained so until 1789, when our ancestors, the glorious revolutionaries, seized all their property. The Abbey was later put up for sale and was purchased by a rich Neapolitan, Minéi di Santa Elena. His family maintained ownership of the north section, keeping only the buildings facing the valley.
 

The new owner of this north section later sold the property to the head chef of the Negresco Hotel in Nice, who wanted to set up his own business. Known by his first name, Joseph, he opened the "L'Abbaye chez Joseph" hotel-restaurant in 1938, before the Second World War. His resourcefulness for solving food supply problems is legendary and he helped the people in La Colle sur Loup in many ways during this difficult period.
 

A first-class organiser, after the war Joseph turned l'Abbaye, into a renowned meeting-place for cultural circles. Artists of all kinds from around the world would meet there: movie stars at the time like Daniel Gélin, Dany Robin, Georges Marshall, Henri Georges Clouzot (he was married there), Brigitte Bardot; singers like Tino Rossi; musicians, dancers of the Marquis de Cuevas; and above all painters, who made it their second home.

The celebration was unending and the champagne flowed copiously. Joseph's demise also meant the end of this atmosphere, which remains legendary and many "old customers" still remember it.
Later, one owner after another tried to venture into the hotel and restaurant business.
 

After being closed for several years, it was only in 1997 that Sylviane Hugues and her son Stéphane fell under the spell of this establishment with a heart and soul and decided to bring its walls filled with history back to life.

This is how "L'Abbaye" was established: a 3-star hôtel with a delightful and charming restaurant. It will leave an unforgettable impression, whether you are seeking monastic rest, peacefulness or penitence.


Your gluttony will be forgiven here !

Hôtel L'Abbaye à La Colle sur Loup, l'histoire

Au Vème siècle de notre ère, il existait sur la commune de Cagnes sur Mer, à l’embouchure du Loup, un monastère appelé le monastère Notre Dame la Dorée et Saint Véran.
Quatre cents ans plus tard, ce monastère menaçait de s’effondrer. Il fut rénové par Charlemagne, roi des Lombards et Patrice des romains. Par la suite, le territoire du monastère fut considérablement étendu grâce à des dons de propriétés offertes par des familles du voisinage.


Ainsi, une charte du 31 Décembre 1016 fait état d’une donation par Pierre et sa femme Ermengarde, de leur territoire du Canadel, qui était leur part d’héritage, au monastère Notre Dame la Dorée et Saint Véran.
La charte précise : «Nous donnons cela pour l’amour de dieu, pour que la Sainte Mère de dieu intercède pour nous, pour qu’en quittant cette vie, les anges nous accueillent.»

En l’An 1032, Logier, sa femme Odile et ses fils, dont Pierre qui était évêque à Sisteron, donnèrent toutes les terres au monastère de Notre Dame la Dorée.


En l’An 1033, une donation faite par la famille Lambert, ajoute encore à ce territoire l’emplacement de différentes chapelles considérées comme dépendantes du monastère, mais qui n’étaient pas encore sa propriété.


C’est en l’An 1055 que ce monastère fut rattaché à celui de Lérins. Aussitôt les moines de Lérins entreprirent la construction de la chapelle du Canadel. Le cœur et la nef, au style roman très pur, datent de cette époque, comme en témoigne l’abside en cul-de-four arrondi et les arcs en plein cintre.

Par contre, il est certain, que ce n’est qu’un siècle plus tard que fut rajoutée la voûte en berceau, comme le prouvent les arcs légèrement ogivaux.

On peut situer entre les années 1150 et 1200 la construction de l’Abbaye, qui vint jouxter la chapelle. Nous en avons pour preuve le reste du cloître et la porte à mâchicoulis des XIIème et XIIIème siècle, qui comme la chapelle sont inscrits aux monuments historiques.

Edifiée par les moines de Lérins, l’Abbaye servit tout d’abord de gîte d’étape au père abbé chaque fois qu’il se rendait aux assemblées des évêques de Vence. S’y trouvant bien, il y transféra sa communauté pendant la mauvaise saison et c’est ainsi que l’Abbaye devient leur résidence d’hiver. Elle le resta jusqu’en 1789, date à laquelle nos ancêtres, les glorieux révolutionnaires accaparèrent tous leurs biens. L’Abbaye fut donc mise en vente et c’est un riche Napolitain, Minéi di Santa Elena, qui en fit l’acquisition. Sa famille conserva la partie nord pour ne garder que les bâtiments orientés vers la vallée.


Le nouvel acquéreur de cette partie nord revendit ensuite son bien à un chef de cuisine du Negresco de Nice qui souhaitait se mettre à son compte. Connu sous son prénom, Joseph, il créa l’hôtel restaurant «L’Abbaye chez Joseph» en 1938, avant la seconde guerre mondiale. Sa débrouillardise pour résoudre les problèmes de ravitaillements est légendaire et il rendit de nombreux services aux habitants de La Colle sur Loup au cours de cette période difficile.


Animateur de premier ordre, Joseph fit de l’Abbaye, après la guerre, un haut lieu culturel. Les artistes de tous genres et du monde entier s’y donnaient rendez-vous : des vedettes de cinéma de l’époque telles que Daniel Gélin, Dany Robin, Georges Marshall, Henri Georges Clouzot qui y célébra son mariage, Brigitte Bardot; des chanteurs tels que Tino Rossi; des musiciens, danseurs et danseuses du Marquis de Cuevas; et surtout les peintres qui en firent leur résidence secondaire.

La fête y était permanente et le Champagne y coulait à flots. Avec la mort de Joseph, disparut également cette ambiance qui reste encore légendaire et dont bon nombre «d’anciens clients» parlent encore. Par la suite, plusieurs acquéreurs y ont tenté tour à tour l’aventure de l’hostellerie restauration.


Ce n’est qu’en 1997, après plusieurs années de fermeture, que Sylviane Hugues et son fils Stéphane, tombés sous le charme de ce lieu pourvu d’une âme, ont voulu rendre la vie à ces murs chargés d’histoire.

Ainsi est née «L’Abbaye», un hôtel*** - restaurant de caractère qui séduit, qui envoûte et qui laisse son souvenir dans la mémoire de celles et ceux qui y font étape : à la recherche d’un repos monacal, de sérénité ou de pénitence.


Ici, le péché de gourmandise vous sera pardonné !